The Board is composed of 4 officers, 7 at-large members, and the Park Ranger.  Board members serve staggered terms as shown below. 

The Board meets 4 times a year, with the annual meeting held at Rock Island State Park in the summer months.

F.O.R.I. Board Members

Erik Lucia-President

Erik Lucia  2014-2017 (3-year term)

President since 2008 
Erik joined the Board as Vice President in 2007 when Bill Olsen retired and stepped up to the the Presidency when Tim Sweet stepped down in 2008.  With his wife, Cyndi, he has spruced up the Boathouse displays, museum room and Thordarson furniture.  Erik and Cyndi serve as Lighthouse docents each summer and live in Luxemburg, WI.   Email Erik.


Randy Spevacek  2015-2018 (3-year term)

Randy Spevacek-MemberAtLarge

Randy joined the Board as a member at large in 2009 and was elected Vice President in 2012 for a 3-year term.  He serves as the chef for FORI Summer Picnics, serves as a docent at the Lighthouse each summer and resides in Green Bay, Wisconsin. Email Randy.


Colleen Andrews  2015-2017 (2-year term)

Secretary since 1997
Colleen served as Board Vice President from 1995 - 1997 and as newsletter editor for a few years. She was elected Secretary in 1997 and continues in that role. She also edits our web site and coordinates the Silent Auction at our annual Summer Picnic. She lives in Almond, Wisconsin.   Email Colleen.


Jeanell Dailey  2015-2017 (2-year term)

Treasurer since 1997
Jeanell has served on the Board since 1994. She was elected Treasurer in 1997 and continues in that role. Jeanell serves as a docent at the Lighthouse each summer.  She is from Madison, Wisconsin.   Email Jeanell.


Ranger Michelle Hefty

Ranger Michelle Hefty

Michelle Hefty, Property Manager at Newport and Rock Island State Parks
In March, 2016, upon the retirement of Ranger Randy Holm, Michelle Hefty assumed management of Rock Island State Park.  She has a big job ahead of her, but she is giving it her all to get and keep both parks operational in the upcoming season.  She is from Ellison Bay, Wisconsin. Email Michelle.


 Margie O'Connor

Margie O'Connor  2016-2017 (1-year term)

Merchandising Coordinator Margie joined the board in 2015 as a member at large, replacing Grace Ann Carpenter who retired from the Board. She organizes our merchandise sales at the Lighthouse, the contact station on Rock Island, at the Kupstauder on Washington Island and at all of our special events each year. Margie resides on Washington Island.  Email Margie.

Jim Johnston  2016-2017 (1-year term)

Jim joined the board in 2005 as a member at large and serves on our Merchandise Committee with Margie. He served as FORI Newsletter editor from 2013-2015.  He is the past president of the Milwaukee Chapter of the Harbor Lights collectors club and has raised thousands of dollars in donations and brought lots of volunteer workers from his club for FORI Pottawatomie Lighthouse projects.  Jim lives in Milwaukee, WI.   Email Jim.

Cyndi Lucia  2016-2017 (1-year term)

Cyndi served as Vice President from 2011-2012 and remains on the Board as a member-at-large.  She joined the Board in 2007 as a member-at -large.  Along with her husband, Erik, she serves as a docent each summer and closes up the Lighthouse Museum each year on Columbus Day.  She brings a lot of creative energy to our endeavors and coordinates the food concession at our Summer Fundraiser picnic.  She lives in Luxemburg, WI.   Email Cyndi.


Vicki Auble-Simpson 2016-2017 (1-year term)

Vicki was elected to the Board in 2012.  She has served as a docent at the Pottawatomie Lighthouse museum with her husband, Jim, for a couple of years and cannot get enough of Rock Island and Door County.  She lives in Fort Wayne, Indiana.  Email Vicki.


Tina Jacoby

Tina Jacoby 2016-2017 (1-year term)

Tina joined the Board in 2014 as a member at large. Along with her husband, Gary, Tina has volunteered at summer picnics and helped at Spring Cleanup Weekend, assisting the Merchandise committee with inventorying and organizing merchandise at the park. She resides in Random Lake, Wisconsin. Email Tina.


Grace Ann Carpenter

Grace Ann Carpenter  Member Emeritus

Past Merchandising Coordinator - Grace Ann joined the board in 2004 as a member at large and served until 2015. She was a childhood friend of Chester Thordarson's granddaughter, Julie, and they remain friends today. Grace Ann resides on Washington Island.  Email Grace Ann


Tim Sweet

Tim Sweet  Member Emeritus

Tim is a founding member of the Friends of Rock Island who served as Secretary since 1994 until he was elected President in 1997. In 2008, he stepped down as he had taken on the role of the President of the new Friends of Plum and Pilot Islands (FOPPI) organization.  He has served as FORI docent coordinator from 2004-2014 and as a docent at the Lighthouse each summer. He resides in Clintonville, Wisconsin.  Email Tim.


Send us your comments about our website to: